10
Jun
07

It’s all the fault of the Dutch…

that I have stubborn orange mango juice stains on three white shirts.

I have been meaning to make mango shaved ice.  The problem has been that I’m a greedy little girl and before I get to the part where I shave ice, I eat the mangoes.

This involves slicing them as per the instructions of my graduating cousinlet (CONGRATULATIONS!) and Anonymous, which means a slice top to bottom on both sides of the seed, then slicing a grid on the halves, and popping the grid into mango dice stuck to the skin.  I should have taken pictures, but then I’d have gotten mango juice on my camera, in addition to my hands, elbows, and white shirt.

I had medium-sized fit-in-my-palm mangoes that were red and soft orange inside.

My grandfather’s house used to have crates of mangoes from one of the nurses he rescued and trained that married a mango farmer.  We visited their grove of mangoes, and one of my fondest memories of Taiwan is picking mangoes in their little white paper bags off of the trees.

Those mangoes were generally large and green with a red blush as they ripened.

It’s the Dutch’s fault that I have mango juice on my shirt, (Not because I’m a stain-magnet, noooo….) because they brought mangoes to Taiwan, which I did not know until I started reading Taiwanese history.   God bless the Dutch!  Well, for the mangoes and Vermeer and Van Gogh and tulips (they are responsible for tulips, right?).

Just because it’s silly and completely absurd– Dancing Mangoes in Costume.

3 Responses to “It’s all the fault of the Dutch…”


  1. June 15, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    I really like that this is filed under “fruit.” You have a category for fruit!!

    I did not know that the Dutch brought the mangoes. How ’bout that.

  2. June 15, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    I really like that this is filed under “fruit.” You have a category for fruit!!

    I did not know that the Dutch brought the mangoes. How ’bout that. At first I thought you were just making a reference to the House of Orange.

  3. June 23, 2007 at 4:41 am

    😉 I didn’t know that the Dutch brought mangoes either– they have always been so much a part of Taiwan to me (the mangoes, not the Dutch), that I’d always assumed they were indigenous.


Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 107,312 hits

