15
Jun
07

About nothing in particular

I found an intriguing cross between a yellow-jacket and a butterfly sitting on an umbrella in our foyer the other morning. My camera doesn’t like focusing, or taking non-purple-smeared photos anymore.

I have six drafts sitting on top of my write post page. Finishing things seems rather impossible lately. My thoughts slip off into tangents that circle back around what I am trying to say but can’t seem to get to finish and feel safe to the wide world

And there’s so much I actually want to write.

Random excerpts from attempts:

“Sometimes, I’ve felt as if I’ve one foot in the US and one in Taiwan, and am really in the middle of nowhere.”

“One of the things that the expat men I’ve run across tend to say when they discuss their experience in Taiwan is that the women here are beautiful. I find this mystifying, because, surely, aren’t women everywhere beautiful?”

“I’ve been busy running late through the rain in my red foofy skirt, singing and dancing in my bare feet on top of wrap-around sofas, and trying on dresses that actually fit, but just aren’t quite me.”

Maybe it’s time for a change of medium.

Happy Dragonboat Festival everyone!

4 Responses to “About nothing in particular”


  1. June 17, 2007 at 5:23 am

    Happy Dragonboat Festival 🙂

    Your excerpts are wonderful snippets, maybe they are better off unfinished and unedited like that. I can relate to the first thought of being between the US and Taiwan, and not belonging wholly to either.

    That’s a lovely picture as well…It’s actually a kind of wasp moth (somewhat related to hummingbird moths, if you’ve ever seen those beauties)

    Sorry, didn’t mean to give you a biology lesson. Have a fun holiday!

  2. June 18, 2007 at 4:37 am

    Thanks for the heads up on the wasp moth. I have seen hummingbird moths in France, and they’re awesome!

    Hopefully I’ll put the full posts up at some point… Thanks for the encouragement.

    And if you’re still organizing a hiking group in Taipei, I’m definitely interested, though I’m going to be pretty busy for the rest of the summer.

    Hope you’re having a fabulous Dragonboat Festival too!

  3. June 18, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    I’d be happy to add you to the email list, if you’d like. There will be a hike/river trace happening this Saturday (6/23), bright and early.

  4. June 19, 2007 at 2:25 am

    Sounds wonderful, but it looks like I’m not going to have a free weekend for three months!

    If you are still planning on hikes in the fall, definitely add me!


Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 108,533 hits

