17
Jul
07

Taroko Gorge

Is one of those places that a camera cannot do justice to, because there are so many layers of mountains, light, stone, trees, and waterfalls that one cannot fit it all in. My camera has been in purple mode as well, so there are some interesting purple-streaked shots. Visiting Taroko Gorge, I felt as if I was in Lord of the Rings territory, a fantastical place that cannot quite possibly be real, but impossibly is real.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

This was a temple that had to be rebuilt three times because of earthquakes taking it down. It is dedicated to all those who lost their lives building the highway that gets to the Taroko Gorge.

The faces of the cliffs are made of marble. My father was mourning the effect of car exhaust through the passageways we walked along– apparently in his youth, the marble walls gleamed white.

This waterfall went on and on and on, the pool above these was fed by at least three waterfalls on the side. I love the color of the pools, which is more vivid than the river below.

There are many swifts that make their home in the holes of the mountainside. As the evening crept through the gorge, they skimmed through the air, deftly soaring and plunging by turns through the gaps between the rock faces edging the river.

7 Responses to “Taroko Gorge”


  1. July 18, 2007 at 8:05 pm

    Your pictures are awesome and awe-inspiring.

    I can only imagine what it must be like to actually be there.

  2. July 19, 2007 at 11:12 am

    😀 Thank you so much! I had to cull out the ones that were purple-streaked from my beleaguered, but determined little Canon A75. At some point, I’ll have to put up an album of the whole non-purpled collection.

    The gorge is truly fantastic, and my photographs are such pale reproductions of the real thing that I hesitated to try taking them or posting them at all. Someday when I’m not the walking wounded (sorry, couldn’t resist the melodrama) and there’s time, I’ll have to try hiking there.

  3. July 19, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    I visited Taroko Gorge two years ago when my family drove around the entire Taiwan island. You’re right, it’s nearly impossible to represent the magnificence of the place with a simple digital camera (though we can certainly try!). I took about 400 pictures there and none were able to truly capture the color palette and sheer scale of Taroko.

  4. July 19, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    400 pictures!!! Wow, you must have some fabulous shots. I ran out of battery there I think, and had to end up shooting some shots from my Dad’s camera which I may never actually get to see…

    That sounds like a great trip though– how long did it take your family to go around the entire island? I’d like to do a solo trip around somehow, but my driving skills… while they may mix comfortably with the general chaos on the road cause me no little trepidation as to whether I’ll be in one piece after twenty minutes…

  5. July 21, 2007 at 1:41 am

    I think the trip took two weeks, but we took our time seeing the scenery of course. I wouldn’t recommend being the driver as it’s not for the faint of heart. Some of the mountainous roads are pretty treacherous…

  6. July 24, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Yes– I was asleep through a good chunk of the drive (getting a goopy cold does that), but two weeks to go around the entire island still seems a bit grueling. We did the East Coast and down through Taichung, Jiaye, Kaioshung, Tainan, and Kenting in two weeks, and that was exhausting!

  7. August 10, 2007 at 7:39 am

    all of your stuff soundz tight (fun, srry im from Cali). Good lux with your journies. I want to be there someday!

    ~B


Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 107,312 hits

