11
Sep
07

More from Kenting National Park

There was a greenhouse of cultivated rare flowers there.  This one was just outside of the greenhouse.

The tree with ribbons for roots.

One of the caves– there were caves dripping with stalactites (or is it stalagmites?) dimly lit with names like “Fairy’s Cave” and “Silver Dragon Cave.”

Sometimes exploring the nature of Taiwan feels like I’ve truly stepped into an alternate world– everything looks just a little bit familiar except when it doesn’t at all. For instance, there are butterflies, but they aren’t the butterflies I remember–the colors are different, the wings are bigger, or their flight is more bird-like.  Or there is greenery in the mountains, but the texture is completely different from what I grew up with.  The rose apple is the shape of a pear with the waxy translucent skin of a candle, and the flesh of an almost spongy apple.  It must have been so exciting for the early explorers to find this lush green island with its mountains of sleeping volcanos and trees weighed down with fruit.  The new variety makes the idea of magic more possible– reality has expanded.

Another link for Kenting National Park with more pictures.

4 Responses to “More from Kenting National Park”


  1. September 16, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    Nothing in the photographs resembles anything from nature where I live. To me, it is all beautiful and because it is not what I know, very exotic.

    Your photography is outstanding. I especially enjoy your bird and butterfly pictures.

  2. September 16, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    Thank you! I’m so glad you like my photos. I was a bit leery of some of the ones in this post actually. Taiwan is naturally very beautiful. I wish my photos could capture more of it!

    • September 30, 2009 at 6:19 am

      Dear friend,

      I like your pictures. Can I use some of them as teaching material in my teaching class?

      I think most of my students never pay attention to our natural beauty. Thanks.

      Anne

      • December 6, 2009 at 8:58 pm

        Hi Anne,
        Thanks for the compliment! Sorry it’s taken a while for me to get caught up with your comment. I’d be honored if you want to use the photos as teaching material. However, I’d only ask that you give me the photo credit with a link to the blog. I doubt they would print well since they aren’t high res., but they might work in a power point presentation.

        Best of luck with the teaching!


Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 107,312 hits

