08
Oct
07

Top of 101

Taipei 101 is still the tallest building in the world, though I believe there is a building in Dubai under construction that is going to challenge it for the title. (Edit:  Apparently the Burj Dubai has already beat Taipei 101 for height, though it is still under construction.  Thanks to Mark and Protocolsnow for the head’s up!)

I should have finished tip-tapping up my visit to Tai Da E-Ren with my parents, but I didn’t, so perhaps this will be chronologically out of order (not that this blog has been particularly orderly in general– alas, my blog is an all-too-accurate version of myself).

I’d seen Taipei 101 for its New Year’s fireworks display last year, but had never taken the ride up to the top to catch the view before. Before my cousin and uncle returned to the US, we were generously treated by a friend to a visit. Taipei 101 is probably the most expensive tourist attraction at around 300 NT (if I remember correctly, and I very possibly don’t…). It’s apparently owned by a private company. We bought tickets with a time that we were allowed to ride up to the top, and returned to follow the line into an elevator with glowing stars in the ceiling that zipped us up to the viewing observatory. Once there, we got nice audio guides that took us from one corner to another, telling us what the gleaming lighted streets were.

While you can see the city spread out before you like a picnic blanket on a nice day from one of the many mountaintops that surround Taipei, it’s still worthwhile to see the views from Taipei 101, simply because it’s a bit more in the middle of things (though the way I map the city in my head, it’s kind of towards the side).

A view of the gleaming streets.

A slightly out-of-focus corner decoration of the building (a tripod would be recommended for trying to shoot all this stuff– I don’t have one, and while I can hold my breath a long time, it’s the standing still that eludes me).

Another street view.

Pretty top of a building in the Xinyi district. (Whoo hoo for 12x zoom and holding my breath!)

The Miramar ferris wheel off in the distance in Neihu.

Another interesting building top.

Damper Baby– the large exposed damper which is the counterweight that protects 101 from tumbling in earthquakes and typhoons.

Don’t ask me how they figured out a blood-type for it.

Apparently there is an even higher outdoor observatory which you can fork over more NT for, but we were quite content to take the speedy elevator down to the ground and back into the mall, which I find notable for Page 101– one of my favorite bookstores ever.

An old shot of 101 from the outside (for some reason the night we went to visit, I forgot to get the outside photo….)

8 Responses to “Top of 101”


  1. October 13, 2007 at 11:44 pm

    The Burj Dubai passed 101 to become the tallest building in the world months ago. Since then, it has also surpassed the CN Tower in Toronto to become the world’s tallest free-standing structure. 101 is still the tallest building that’s fully completed, though.

    BTW, I like your theme. The way the comment fields go from gray to white when I highlight them is a nice touch.

  2. October 14, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    Actually, that building in Dubai has already surpassed the Taipei 101 in height, and it hasn’t even finished construction yet. It’s called the Burj Dubai.

    I guess you could say Taipei 101 is the world’s tallest functional building 🙂

  3. October 16, 2007 at 5:24 am

    Thanks for the fact-correction guys! I haven’t done a visual survey of “tallest” buildings but I think that Taipei 101 does look nice for a tall building– the whole bamboo layered effect is kind of cool. Have to see what the Burj Dubai ends up looking like I guess.

    Mark– I can’t take credit for the theme, it’s “Redoable Lite” by Dean Robinson (http://www.deanjrobinson.com/). I’m glad you like it. I worried a bit about the white text on a dark background, but I really liked the way that it makes photos pop a bit.

  4. November 9, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    Also, work on the Burj Dubai has currently halted due to a major strike by workers over pay and working conditions. This is the second time in two years that workers there have gone on strike. (In a country where labour unions and strike action is illegal).
    http://afp.google.com/article/ALeqM5hP0HCJknzSCed9bsQSz2ESmAe8EQ

  5. 5 sherema
    December 24, 2007 at 10:15 am

    Taipei 101 is indeed a lovely structure…..and the building in Dubai is to……

    Your blog is really organised and creative in style and design….I love it

  6. December 24, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    Thanks for your kind words about the blog Sherema! Hopefully I’ll get around to doing more than just reply to comments soon!

  7. February 8, 2008 at 4:10 am

    Love your blog –
    A while back I was in this building with family and friends…there were these people in gaint ball customes – song and dance and everything it was something else.

  8. February 11, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Wow, the giant ball costumes I can totally see happening– and it’s the sort of thing that has a somewhat quintessentially Asian “cute” aesthetic to it in my imagination’s rendition.

    Thanks for your comment– I’m so glad you like the blog!


Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 107,324 hits

