03
Jan
08

Happy Still-Shiny-New Year!

 Okay, I’m late.  However, while perusing my files for something completely different (like inspiration to whittle my history into 250 articulate, personable words), I ran across this photo.

I think photo credit goes to my cousin, since I did take a couple of shots, and they were a bit blurred thanks to my notoriously shaky hands…  That and balancing on the little bridge on my grandfather’s pond.  There’s a saying in my mother’s family that the whole family has dunked into that pond at least once.  I have thus far escaped the dunking, though I’ve scrubbed algae off the walls of the pond, leaning over the edge, had a massive water fight in the yard (the house has a marvelous number of faucets attached to marigold-colored plastic hoses, and my cousin discovered the joy of shooting water out of the showerhead through the bathroom window at us too)., and teetered while taking photos of the flowers.

The flower that blooms at night.

Anyway, it’s the flower that only blooms at night– blooming in my grandparents’ pond during Moon Festival (which, yes, happened a while ago).

May we all bloom this year.

3 Responses to “Happy Still-Shiny-New Year!”


  1. January 4, 2008 at 4:20 am

    Oh wow. That’s really pretty. Haha. That’s in our grandfather’s pond? I wish I could see it bloom. That would be cool.

    Haha. I have also dodged any dunking thus far. =P

  2. January 4, 2008 at 4:30 am

    Come back to visit! We’ll have a dunking party!


Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 107,312 hits

