03
Apr
08

Alishan Tea

Tea also grows nearby, though apparently not on Alishan, where the elevation is a bit too high for it, if I remember correctly. Or maybe tea is only grown on the lower elevations of mountains.

A photograph that I took from a moving bus in the rain on the way back to Chaiyi. I think that’s tea.

This is certainly tea– it’s supposed to be that golden color. Alishan’s tea is a fine oolong. However, I have to say, it was generally rather bitter for my taste. It’s a good gift-ish sort of souvenir though.

The lovely lady who served our taste of tea turned out the first brew because it was more polite.

Generally the tea ceremony involves the boiling water swished around the teapot and then poured out after warming the vessel. Then the tea leaves are tossed in, and the hot water steeps them for just a quick second or so. Then she tossed out the first bunch of tea into the hole-y tray and took off the cover to whisk the newly unfurled fresh leaves to steam under our noses and release their scent into our faces. She then steeped the leaves again and poured the tea in tiny cups.

We sipped too much tea for around nine or ten o’clock at night for people who were waking up at four to see the sunrise. The tea left an odd sensation in my mouth like a night that is too early old.

I want to go tea picking again. And I want to go to Maokong again too… I really love the jasmine tea I picked up from there.

5 Responses to “Alishan Tea”


  1. April 4, 2008 at 4:22 am

    mmmmmm, tea…. it looks so beautiful!!

  2. April 4, 2008 at 4:34 am

    Doesn’t it? I’ve had to abandon my caffeine avoidance in Taiwan. The temptation is simply too great.

  3. April 4, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    I LOVE Taiwanese tea. So much.
    Oolong is not as clean tasting as green, but there’s something more earthy and real about it.
    I also like bubble tea though even though it’s made from cheap tea haha. Still a thousand times better tasting than the crappy Lipton tea bags here or Orange Pekoe tea *shudders*
    I hear it’s all being replaced by coffee shops on every corner though. Sad.

  4. April 8, 2008 at 3:15 am

    There ARE a lot of coffee shops, but they generally do have tea options! And bubble tea is FABULOUS!!! Beverage options in Taiwan are limitless. ;D


Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 108,427 hits

