03
Apr
08

Can cause tears and decongestion

WordPress decided that my original post was tasty for some odd reason and swallowed it up.

Grr.

Anyway, I came upon these roots:

And wondered why someone would put up a statue of one (Well, “statue” is a bit of a loosely used term here. It does seem to be more of an amusement park decoration…)

We stopped in at one of the stands and she peeled the root, and then rubbed it vigorously against a little bumpy grater, deftly scraping some of the paste off and onto moichi (little generally sweet sticky rice cakes dusted with flour which seem to be special to every tourist destination). After popping it into my mouth, the vigorous crisp taste surged through my throat and up my nose to drag tears from my popping eyes. After a determined swallow, I let my jaw drop so I could take a deep breath of soothing cool misty air.

The combination of moichi with this was rather odd.

I took a set of flavored peanuts back to Taipei to treat my colleagues and dare my students with. There is photographic representation of my sixth grade class breathing through their noses wide-awake, but I’m afraid of their just retribution were I to post it here….

And though it does have rather painfully decongestive properties, it wasn’t able to quite battle the nasty cold I brought back with me from Alishan.

Any guesses as to what this is?

ETA: Yup Herbert and Z, it’s wasabi– though there is a Chinese name for it that I don’t remember…

4 Responses to “Can cause tears and decongestion”


  1. April 4, 2008 at 5:00 am

    kekk I would guess it’s some plant that’s in the mustard family and related to the famous Japanese wasabi: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wasabi

    Or~ maybe they’re actually the same.

  2. 2 Anonymous
    April 7, 2008 at 3:07 am

    Yeah, that’s wasabi.

  3. 4 Z
    April 8, 2008 at 3:48 am

    Whoops, looks like I forgot to put my name down when I made the 2nd post.


Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 107,792 hits

