28
May
08

On the wayside

The flower shop by my father’s old home. Any idea what these interesting cup flowers are?

Our shadows on the crumbling wall of my relative’s grandmother’s home (I think…)

Decorated by the local elementary school, I believe my relative said this is actually a private residence.

The street behind the temple where my relatives have their little everything shop.

On the way back at twilight– I liked the way this stoplight was broken just enough for the light within to gleam like a wannabe sunset.

The open gutter by the side of the road in Hsingkang. I love how impatiens are wildflowers in Taiwan– they bloom by the roadsides. It’s interesting being here– I understand my mother’s garden choices more, when I see flowers that are familiar, as if I’m not really quite so far away from home in the comfortable company of roses or begonias or impatiens.

4 Responses to “On the wayside”


  1. 1 Lucy
    May 29, 2008 at 10:11 am

    I tried posting this once before but I don’t think it worked. I hope I’m not spamming you. Anyway, they look like pitcher plants: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nepenthes

    They’re carnivorous, so maybe you should get one to protect you from cockroaches and mosquitoes…

  2. June 12, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    awyehhhh I remember (back in the day when I was young and innocent and still in the single-digit years~) when we bought a few of those insectivorous plants in an effort to do some mosquito controlling around the house. Didn’t work too great since.. the efficiency of these plants aren’t that great. (Something like.. taking one week to digest a bug. huuu, we’d probably needed MILLIONS, considering the sheer number of mosquitos in Taiwan.. ><”) In anycase, here goes another wikipedia article (^^;;) on these insectivorous plants: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pitcher_plant

  3. June 15, 2008 at 9:09 am

    🙂 Thanks for the article on the pitcher plants! (They don’t have a hunger for cockroaches, do they???)

  4. June 20, 2008 at 2:55 am

    Thanks Lucy– that wikipedia article has some great photos. Sorry that your comment didn’t post right away. Apparently wordpress thought it was spam.


Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 107,791 hits

