28
May
08

Performing Arts High School in Shingkang

My father and my uncle by marriage on my mom’s side both come from the quiet town of Hsingkang or Shingkang.  It’s a tiny town that is accessible by a tiny crowded bus from Chiayi.  My dad’s cousin’s daughter who became an English teacher was very kind to let me join her.  Her family rescued us from a stay in my father’s old house (which is picturesque but lacks modern plumbing and air conditioning, while hosting a number of happy mosquitos) long long ago.

I walked back with her and her mother to their home and we passed through the newly-built arts high school.  Apparently it displaced some rice fields in the process of its creation.

Lucky kids– it looks really state of the art, and I love walkways of windows.  I think this one is headed to the dorms.

0 Responses to “Performing Arts High School in Shingkang”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 107,792 hits

