25
Jun
08

Protecting the “squirrels”

I remember these broken glass-topped walls used to be everywhere in Taiwan.  When I visited Tai Da, my co-worker told me that the girls’ dorm is nearby.  Apparently he used to spend a lot of time in this area admiring the (and here he paused) squirrels.

When I was planning on coming to Taiwan, my father tried dissuading me by painting the country as lawless and dangerous.  Times certainly have changed.  I haven’t seen too many walls with broken glass on top anymore.

2 Responses to “Protecting the “squirrels””


  1. 1 meiguo-conjun-feijiren
    July 19, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Glass on tops of the walls did not appear until after the Japanese left Taiwan in and around 1945. Many of the KMT used this as a tactic to keep thieves away on the mainland. Every time I see this, I think of just another one of the many things and traditions the KMT brough to TW.

  2. July 22, 2008 at 6:13 am

    Thanks for the tip meiguo-conjun-feijiren! I didn’t realize it was something the KMT brought to Taiwan, though I did guess it began during KMT rule. My aunt said that when the Japanese had the island as a colony, it was so safe, they never locked their doors.


Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 107,752 hits

