26
Jun
08

Around Tai Da

National Taiwan University, or Tai Da, is regarded as the best university in Taiwan.  It’s kind of a mellow place to hang out when one isn’t sweating over taking the GRE test with a bunch of stressed out Taiwanese students poring over their English cram school booklets.  According to my father, it was a bastion of studying students who had no time for fun in his day (though he shoots some incredibly mean pool, so I suspect he learned SOMETHING outside of the library!).

Note the yellow-green spike on the palm tree?  It’s turning over a new leaf.

The main avenue of palms that proudly lead up to the library.

Note: Not a squirrel.  This photo credit may actually go to my colleague B.  I handed over the camera at some point and he crept up to this twitchy lizard.

White flowers in Taiwan always seem to be sweetly fragrant.

Trees!

There were all these tadpoles bobbling through the pool along with a couple of floating pomelos that looked as if they were some kind of offering that had yet to be received.

The resting remains of one of the first presidents of Tai Da.  It’s interesting that it has Western classical architecture.

Double-decker bike parking!

It’s not all fun and games!

4 Responses to “Around Tai Da”


  1. June 29, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Tai Da is indeed an elite school. My cousins in the past couple years have been studying maniacally to do well on their college entrance exams. I don’t think even they thought Tai Da was a realistic goal for them. If I understand their testing criteria correctly, you basically have to ace the entrance exam to get in!

  2. July 4, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    That makes sense– from what I hear, it IS insanely difficult to get into. I wish your cousins luck with that!

  3. July 1, 2009 at 11:12 am

    I used to work in Taiwan for 2 years and I cant forget this good place especially NTU or Tai Da, I often made my portrait photographs inside this school..

    I want to share some of my photos inside NTU.

    recall73

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/denziljr/collections/72157607290102997/


Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 108,552 hits

