06
Aug
08

Ways the Taiwanese government gets citizens to do what they’re supposed to…

Give Prizes!!!

For taxpayers residing in Taipei County, you have a chance to win a motorbike in a prize draw if you pay the second term commercial vehicle license tax on time by October, and the land value tax, to be launched in November!

From the Taipei Revenue Office website

This is not unlike the receipt lottery (fa piao lottery) used to try to get businesses to issue receipts (and thus pay their taxes).  Every receipt has a lottery number on it, so every purchase one makes is an opportunity to win money…  Being a packrat, I’ve collected lots, checked a few, but have yet to get lucky.

Now if the IRS in the US gave prizes for on-time filings, maybe I’d stop getting my automatic extension…  Oh wait, that deadline’s next Friday.   Excuse me…

 

Oh, but if you’re a foreigner in Taiwan needing to figure out taxes–the Tax Guide for Foreigners and Foreigner’s Income Tax Q&A links may be helpful for you.

Good luck getting your refunds!

8 Responses to “Ways the Taiwanese government gets citizens to do what they’re supposed to…”


  1. August 6, 2008 at 6:37 am

    That’s interesting. May I ask what brought you to Taiwan?

  2. August 6, 2008 at 9:45 am

    It is friendly, as govt. messages go, and it tries to reenforce good behavior.

    Love,
    P.

  3. August 7, 2008 at 5:32 am

    I check all my receipts every month, and have dome so during the 9 years I have lived in Taiwan. Last month I finally won something, NT$1000. I felt so lucky that I spend NT$200 on lotto tickets, but of course that is when my luck ran out.

  4. 4 Dave
    August 7, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    I’ve always thought that implementing the receipt lottery stateside would be a great idea. Enjoy your blog though I don’t drop by often.

  5. August 8, 2008 at 5:24 am

    Getting a tax refund in Taiwan is amazingly easy. Just go to your local Tax office, they will help you with all the paperwork, calculations etc. Then give them a copy of your bankbook, and by the end of July your refund will be deposited.

  6. August 12, 2008 at 5:05 am

    Hi Bluefish– Taiwan is my family’s home, so that was a prime motivation.

    Hi Paulie– The tax office is actually REALLY friendly– like with decorations that were reminiscent of an elementary school in the entrance of the hallway and guides to point me in the proper direction of the alien counter.

    Hi Dave– I think it would be a good idea too, but then it might dilute the state income from the other lotteries like the powerball, etc… I also think they ought to give people at least the first number, so it’s at least a bit exciting after the first ball pops up in the little machine… Thanks for your comment!

  7. 7 Arielyn
    September 25, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Well, I want to become a tiwan citizen but i wasint born there… so does that mean i cannot be one?

  8. October 18, 2008 at 5:12 am

    You can become a Taiwanese citizen– it’s a bit convoluted and difficult from what I understand, but I haven’t tried to go through the process myself, so don’t go by me. Google and noodle around the government websites (which are at times tricky to figure out). I know at least one foreigner has gotten Taiwanese citizenship. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 107,792 hits

