23
Aug
08

Barclay Park 2

When we went to Barclay Park this spring (yes, there’s a backlog of postings, my apologies– but fortunately for ye readers who like attending my witterings and pretty pictures, since there is a backlog, the blog will likely not die even after I finally return to the US in the fall for the kiss and cry of the election…  Oh, where was I?  Right… Barclay Park, a spring morning when I actually woke up REALLY early to go take photographs), the air wasn’t oppressively hot, and there were plenty of people doing their morning exercises of Tai Chi, and stretches and strolling energetically about.  In spite of the hopping pathways which hosted adorable tots being walked by their parents, there was a certain ambiance that retained that silent watchful quality nature has, even when it’s not all that silent…

lizards

Cute lizards

lizards

Photobucket

A smushed flower– these are pretty common if you stroll underneath the trees with slightly fern-like leaves and red flowers which I don’t know the proper name of.  They’re beautiful though, and I’ll photoblog them at some point.  ETA: My mother informs me that they are called “flame trees” and that Tainan has also been known as the “flame tree city.”

flower

Another flower that was growing on bushes close to the water’s edge.

I think these are vaguely orchid-like, even though they are attached to a bush.

A water hyacinth.

Sunflowers always make me think of Provence, but there was a little field of them in Barclay park too.

3 Responses to “Barclay Park 2”


  1. August 25, 2008 at 3:03 am

    hi-what camera do u use?
    i love ur lizards photos

  2. August 25, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    I’m glad you like them!

    I have a Sony H1 with a 12x optical zoom, which is a fun camera to work with. My only reservations about it are that sometimes indoor fluorescent lighting’s white balance seems off (this may be due to my still not figuring out how to adjust it), and it’s a bit of a bigger camera– not as big as an SLR, but big enough to make my students get antsy when I try to shoot them with it.

    Thanks for your comment!

  3. September 18, 2008 at 1:41 am

    I’m a perpetual sucker for blueberries by the side of the road. And pix.
    P.


Leave a Reply

Free Rice

Photobucket
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 108,552 hits

