17
Aug
08

Barclay Park

Barclay Park is a nice little park in Tainan that I visited with my aunt this past spring.  It is named after a missionary.  I was on a mission to shoot photographs of lotus.  Unfortunately, the park didn’t have any lotus (so I am still on my quest– tips on places to shoot lotus anyone?  For some reason whenever I want to shoot lotus, I run out of battery after one shot, or it’s raining, at night, etc…)

However, there were many other things to take photographs of…

Fishing in the pond.  I always think those long black fishing poles look like antenna, flicking up and down, tasting the air above the water with a graceful arch.

A sleepy red-eyed duck.
Photobucket

Geese eating bark for breakfast…  Mmm…



This is a close-up of breadfruit, which I have yet to eat.

Mangoes hanging from the tree. (This reminds me of an illustration class I was in once, where an extremely talented artist in my class made a gorgeous illustration, except all the mangoes were hanging upside down on the tree.)

Shuei lien are water flowers that only open at night and close by mid-morning.

Close to the stream, the sound of the cicadas rose into a pelting loud chorus as we walked under the trees. This is my attempt to shoot the living one that my aunt pointed out to me.

Her shot was better…


6 Responses to “Barclay Park”


  1. August 18, 2008 at 2:54 am

    I really love your photos. You’re such a great photographer.

  2. August 21, 2008 at 5:33 am

    Thank God the park is named after a missionary, for a minute i thought it is named after the multinational bank …

  3. 3 Amanitas
    August 22, 2008 at 3:01 am

    Sarah Duke Garden at Duke University has a good collection of lotuses and water lilies. Last week when I visited, most of the lotuses were already forming seed pods. If you are planning to go there, I would suggest that you call first to find out when will be the best time to see lotus flowers.

  4. August 22, 2008 at 8:56 am

    Thanks bluefish– I’m glad you enjoy the photos!

    Tazeen– The full branding of places hasn’t quite taken place here in Taiwan…

    Thanks for the tip Amanitas! I probably won’t be in the vicinity of Duke this lotus season, though perhaps next season I can swing by and check them out!

  5. June 28, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Nice. I never thought too much of this park, but your photos liven up the place in a way I’ve never taken the time to notice before.


Leave a comment


Free Rice

Photobucket
August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 114,446 hits